Past Events

Monday, October 3, 2011
Julia Ward Howe’s Hippolytus: Remaking Greek Tragedy for Nineteenth-Century America
A Lecture with Helene Foley
BCRW, 101 Barnard Hall
Thursday, September 29, 2011
Psychoanalysis & Our Time
A lecture by Éric Laurent
Julius Held Auditorium, 304 Barnard Hall
Monday, September 26, 2011
The Argument
Written and performed by David Greenspan
Minor Latham Playhouse, 118 Milbank Hall
Sunday, September 25, 2011
visible: The Inside Story
A discussion of the collaboration between Jawole Willa Jo Zollar and Nora Chipaumire
Julius Held Auditorium, 304 Barnard Hall
Wednesday, September 21, 2011
From Page to Stage
A panel featuring Susan Bernfield, Lauren Feldman, Emily Morse, Sylvan Oswald and Alice Reagan
Glicker-Milstein Theatre, LL200 The Diana Center
Tuesday, September 13, 2011
Jews From/In The Former Soviet Union: Migration, Demography and Identity
A lecture by Sergio DellaPergolla
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Wednesday, September 7, 2011 6PM
Glamour Magazine and Barnard College Present: The Secrets to Success For Twentysomethings
Glamour magazine’s Top 10 College Women Competition celebrates this year’s winners with an enlightening conversation on leadership and success.
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Sunday, May 15, 2011
Baccalaureate Service
St. Paul's Chapel, Columbia campus
Wednesday, May 4, 2011
Student Writers Read Their Work: Seniors with Creative Writing Concentrations
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Tuesday, April 26, 2011
FREE-RANGE KIDS: Why does an old-fashioned childhood sound so radical?
Annual Julia Howe Ward Child Development Lecture
Diana Center, Event Oval
Friday, April 22, 2011
Gasland: A Film by Josh Fox
A Screening and Q&A with Director Josh Fox
Wood Auditorium, Avery Hall, Columbia University
Thursday, April 21, 2011
Sound Poetry
A reading and lecture with Jean-Pierre Bobillot
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Tuesday, April 19, 2011
Arts & Policy: Dance and the NEA
A discussion with Douglas Sonntag, Director of Dance, National Endowment for the Arts. Moderated by Paul Scolieri, Assistant Professor of Dance.
Event Oval, The Diana Center. Free and open to the public.
Saturday, April 16, 2011
Spring Concert: Brahms’ Ein Deutsches Requiem
Performed by the Barnard- Columbia Chorus
Union Theological Seminary
Wednesday, April 13, 2011
Liberty in Mind: Women Philosophers from Margaret Cavendish to Mary Wollstonecraft
A lecture with Sarah Hutton
Julius S. Held Auditorium 304 Barnard Hall
Tuesday, April 12, 2011
Comparing Translations of Homer
What Difference do Differences Make?
Milbank 328
Tuesday, April 12, 2011
Public Feelings Salon
A discussion with Lauren Berlant, Ann Pellegrini, José Muñoz, Lisa Duggan, Tavia Nyong’o, and Janet Jakobsen
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Tuesday, April 12, 2011
European Migration Since 1500: Implications for World History
A lecture with Leo Lucassen
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Thursday, April 7, 2011
Tanya Barfield, Shira Nayman & Frances Richard
Writers at Barnard
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Thursday, April 7, 2011
Translation, Intertextuality, Interpretation
A lecture with Lawrence Venuti
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Wednesday, April 6, 2011
Created In God’s Image: Intersections of Judaism, Gender, and Human Rights
A lecture with Rabbi Rachel Kahn-Troster ’01
Event Oval, The Diana Center
April 6, 2011
2011 Scholarship Dinner & Auction
The Plaza
Tuesday, April 5, 2011
What’s Water Worth? Hydrofracking and its impact on New York Drinking Water
A panel with John Conrad, IOGA of NY; Paul Gallay, Executive Director Riverkeeper; Caswell F. Holloway, Commissioner, New York City Department of Environmental Protection; and Martin Stute, Professor and Co-chair, Department of Environmental Science
James Room, 4th Floor Barnard Hall
Thursday, March 31, 2011
"A Space Like No Other" -- CANCELED
A talk with Rosmarie Waldrop
Ella Weed Room, Milbank 223
Wednesday, March 30, 2011
Power Talks with Anna Quindlen
The F-Word: A Celebration
Held Auditorium, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall